Tag Archives: Lefse Records

Houses to release debut LP All Night on Lefse Oct. 19

26 Aug

Lefse Records isn’t shy about discovering music within different genres, as they’ll release All Night, the debut album from Houses. The band’s first full-length will become available Oct. 19. In the meantime, listeners have been soaking up the dreamy single “Endless Spring” for months now. Lefse’s website provides a message directly from the mysterious Chicagoans:

“I got laid off from my job at the end of last year and decided I needed a change. My girlfriend put in her two weeks and we moved out to a little cabin in Papaikou, Hawaii. It’s a pretty remote place outside of Hilo (i.e no plumbing/electricity/gas). We worked for meals during the day cultivating microorganisms and learning the basics of sustainable living. We drank showered and cooked with rain water. In our downtime, she would paint and I would record.

We’d have to light candles in an effort to save solar power to keep my computer running. We inspired each other a lot out there, and I think it shows on the album. The music comes from a place of love and ease. The video for “Endless Spring” was shot there in our spare time, and the music was sketched out loosely over the course of a few months. We just kind of melted into one person. We were able to keep our heads above water for a few months before we both went broke and moved back to Chicago. I put together all the arrangements and field recordings, and that became All Night. The album was pressed to vinyl on a vintage Neumann cutting lathe and then sent through a series of old analog mastering equipment. It then underwent a digital transfer. The idea is that everyone can hear the very first pressing of All Night. It’s a sonically intimate record and we wanted to capture that feeling in the production as well.”

All Night
Street date: Oct. 19, 2010
1. All Night
2. Endless Spring
3. Reds
4. Rose Book
5. Soak It Up
6. Medicine
7. Lost In Blue
8. Wash
9. Sleeping
10. Sun Fills

Don’t pass on the Houses/Teen Daze collaboration “Bikes.”

New Releases from Dominant Legs, How to Dress Well via Lefse

9 Jul

The folks at Lefse Records have flawless ears. If you push aside their biggest artist, Neon Indian, for just a moment and take a closer look, Lefse (“P.S. It’s pronounced LEFF-suh.”) has gathered a diverse musical family of promise that should be on everyone’s radar.

Dominant Legs, the side project of Girls‘ guitarist Ryan Lynch and Hannah Hunt. Their debut four-track EP Young at Love and Life will be released Aug. 17 and will leave you wanting more.

Lynch + Hunt

The music is simple in its makeup, but summons a whole lot of feeling. Dominant Legs carries a similar nostalgic expressionism to Girls, only with less density and darkness in their review mirror. This is definitely one of the cooler side-projects to come along in a bit. Three of the four songs are streaming on their myspace.

Another EP by way of Lefse is Ready for the World, the two-track 7″  from How to Dress Well, featuring a re-mix by Twin Sister. The atmospheric, undefined sounds of HTDW are unique to an R&B genre cluttered in reproduced beats and samples. The droned vocals are landscaped and used instrumentally rather than as lyrical transmission, creating devastatingly erotic tracks. Grade-A baby-making music. The EP is to be released July 20th.